Top three International Elite men and women better event record at TSK 25K

News Desk, News Nation 360:  Leonard Barsoton of Kenya and Guteni Shone of Ethiopia rewrote the event records to light up the lazy Sunday morning today even as 15,445 running enthusiasts made the World Athletics’ only Silver Label accredited to run at this distance—Tata Steel Kolkata 25K --not only one of the most competitive distance running event across the globe but also a celebration of fitness and promise to build a healthy eco-system. Leonard Barsoton of Kenya rewrote the event record with a timing of 1:13:05, a huge 40 seconds lesser than the record set by Kenenisa Bekele at 1:13:48. Guteni Shone of Ethiopia breasted the winning tape in the women’s category with a timing of 1:22:09 knocking off over four minutes from the one set by Degetu Azimeraw at 1:26:01. In fact, the top three International Elites in both men’s and women’s category bettered the event record. In the men’s category, the second and third places were taken by Betesfa Getahun with timing of 1:13:33 and compatriot Bayelign Yegsaw 1:13:36. In the women’s race, the silver and bronze went to Desi Jisa with the timing of 1:23:32 and Tejitu Daba with the timing of 1:24:32. Exclusively speaking, Leonard told it is so special to have broken the record of someone as legendary as Kenenisa Bekele. It makes him win special, even more, because till two weeks back he was not sure he would come here. It was a tough race and a tough course. There was close competition till the 20K mark after which he broke free from the pack. he has been training hard this year, leading a disciplined life—sleeping early, rising early and training hard. This year in Valencia he had one of his best timings. Leonard next plans to take part in RAK Half Marathon in Dubai and also look at the European circuit. Srinu Bugatha (1:18:31) and Kiranjeet Kaur (1:38:56) won the Indian challenge in the men’s women’s category respectively in a tough field. The second and third places were taken by Tirtha Pun (1:18:39) and Harshad Mhatre (1:20:03) in the men’s category and Shyamali Singh (1:39:02) and Arati Patil (1:39:40) respectively. Race Categories and Participants: 25K Run (Including Vijay Diwas Cup)—3800 registered, Open 10K Run (Including Police Cup)—5695 registered, Ananda Run—4531 registered, Senior Citizens Run—1014 registered, Champions with Disability—405 registered, Grand Total---15445. With the new route, the race has become tougher with a flyover in play now  along with an average incline

sharper than before. The race has moved into the city proper where the runners went through city streets with traffic and general commuters on one side.

Pic : Courtesy

Report : Anustup Kundu

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram